Call today for a free consultation!

 (586) 685-2552


Bommarito LAwpllc

Michigan Traffic Violations



Michigan's Traffic Laws and Point System 

Under Michigan law, some traffic violations are civil infractions while others are misdemeanors or 
felonies. Depending on the violation and how it is resolved, you may be fined, referred to a special
program or, in the most serious situations, sent to jail. In most cases, if you do not take care of a
traffic ticket or fail to appear for a court hearing, your driver's license will be suspended.

​Each time you are convicted of a traffic violation, you will have to pay certain court fines and costs.
In addition, points may be added to your driving record. Under Michigan's point system, each traffic
violation has a point value, which is set by law in the Michigan Vehicle Code.  Points are placed on your
​​driver record only after you have been convicted or found guilty or responsible for a civil infraction.
​Points placed on your driver record remain there for two years from the date of conviction.


Should I Just Pay a Ticket?No!  If you received a traffic violation that carries a penalty of points, paying the ticket is admitting responsibility and will add the points to your driving record.  You should contact an experienced traffic attorney at Bommarito Law to discuss your case as soon as you receive a ticket.  Bommarito Law will attend court hearings on your behalf and negotiate a resolution to minimize the consequences on your driving record.


Points For Common Traffic Convictions
If you received a ticket or any of the following, or ANY moving violation, contact an attorney at Bommarito Law for a free consultation.


Six Points
  • ​​​​Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle.
  • Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs.
  • Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more.
  • Refusal to take a chemical test.
  • Fleeing or eluding a police officer.

Four Points
  • ​​​​Drag racing.
  • Operating while visibly impaired.
  • Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content.
  • 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.
  • Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles.

Three Points
  • ​​​​Drag racing.
  • Careless driving.
  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing.
  • 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit.
  • Failure to stop at railroad crossing.
  • Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard.

Two Points
  • ​​​​10 mph or less over the legal speed limit.
  • Open alcohol container in vehicle.
  • All other moving violations of traffic laws.
  • Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.